IUT organisation and governance

IUT organisation and governance

The IUT is governed by a Board (previously known as the Council).  It is the highest decision-making body within the IUT and it meets twice a year.

It is chaired by the President, which is currently Sven Bergenstråhle who has held this position for two 3– year terms.   He was preceded by Sven Carlsson and Lars Anderstig, Chairman from 1980-1992. Jan Laurier is the Vice President.

The Board also consists of representatives from ten countries:  Austria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, and Switzerland

The Executive Committee consists of the President, Vice President, Secretary General and the Head of the EU liaison office and they meet approximately 4 times each year.

Annika Wahlberg is the current Secretary General, she was preceded by Magnus Hammar, Secretary General 1999-2017 and Nic Nilsson, Secretary General on a full-time basis from 1982 until 1999.

Barbara Steenbergen established IUTs first EU office in Brussels and is currently Head of IUTs EU liaison office.

Stefan Runfeldt is the Assistant Secretary.

IUT also has a number of working groups, currently Energy- Housing Policy-, and Finance- working groups which meet at regular intervals each year.